
Costs
Haystack and Watershed summer workshop costs compared: the published fee lines
Haystack and Watershed summer workshop costs compared line by line: the tuition, housing, materials and kiln fees in the published listings, what is unconfirmed for July, and the terms to check before a deposit.
What to take away
- Haystack and Watershed publish their figures in different ways, so compare the fee lines, not the headline price.
- One directory listing gives Haystack tuition of $1,500 and room and board of $590 to $2,140. The year is not stated, so confirm it.
- Watershed's summer page lists a $2,575 regular residency rate for a two-week session (year not confirmed), with materials and kiln fees billed extra.
- Medomak publishes no workshop fee in the sources reviewed, so it is not priced here. Ask the school for a written fee schedule before you send a deposit.
- Materials, firing, travel and shipping sit outside most headline fees, so add them to every total.
What actually differs between the two
Haystack Mountain School of Crafts on Deer Isle runs fixed summer sessions. You apply for one workshop, and room and board are part of the session when you are accepted. Housing on campus is limited, and requests are not guaranteed.
Three schools, three formats
Haystack
- Location
- Deer Isle
- July format
- Two-week session
- Focus
- One workshop
- Housing
- Required
- Booking
- Winter application
Watershed
- Location
- Newcastle
- July format
- Weekly residency
- Focus
- Ceramics
- Housing
- Optional
- Booking
- Winter application
Medomak
- Location
- Washington
- July format
- Three to five days
- Focus
- One themed craft
- Housing
- Optional
- Booking
- Rolling
Watershed Center for the Ceramic Arts in Newcastle runs residencies rather than classes. Its summer residency is built around shared studios and kilns, and its summer page sets the rate per two-week session. The page does not show a per-week price, so the two-week figure is the one to compare.
Four variables move a budget further than tuition does: length of stay, whether housing is mandatory, what the materials fee covers, and how early you apply. Booking windows matter as well, because July places often fill first.
The criteria matrix
Haystack, Deer Isle
- Typical July format
- Two-week session, one workshop
- Housing
- Included with the session; on-campus space is limited
- Published fee found
- Yes, one third-party listing; year not stated
- Booking window
- Check the school's current application window
Watershed, Newcastle
- Typical July format
- Two-week summer residency
- Housing
- Listing does not say whether housing is included at the regular rate
- Published fee found
- Yes, summer residency page for 2026
- Booking window
- Winter application for summer residencies; check the current window
Medomak
- Typical July format
- No workshop schedule published
- Housing
- Not confirmed for workshops
- Published fee found
- No
- Booking window
- Not confirmed
If you sell your work, tuition and the materials fee can count as ordinary business costs, and IRS Publication 535 explains how the IRS tests business expenses.
Where each one is the right answer
Haystack suits you if you want uninterrupted studio time and can give up two weeks. The residential format removes most of the cooking and commuting, which is why its housing line matters so much.
Watershed suits you if your work is ceramic and you want firing and glazes without owning a kiln. Its summer page also lists a discounted student assistantship that includes a double-occupancy room, meals and studio access, so ask which rate applies to you.
Medomak may suit you if you want a lower-commitment option, but no workshop fee or schedule was found in the sources reviewed. Ask for the schedule and a written fee list before you compare it with the other two.
If you have never spent two weeks in a shared studio, read a first-visit guide on studio etiquette before you go.
What the published figures show
Figures below come from listings that differ in date and detail. Treat each as a starting point and confirm it with the school before you budget.
For Haystack, one directory listing gives general tuition of $1,500 for a workshop session. The same listing puts room and board between $590 for a dorm bed and $2,140 for a double room with a private bath, with meals included in those rates. Shop fees are listed at $25 to $170, and materials are billed separately.
For Watershed, the summer residency page lists $2,575 for the regular artist-in-residence rate and $2,155 for a discounted student assistantship that includes a double room, meals, and studio and kiln access. The year of these rates is not confirmed. Materials and kiln fees are paid per use on the last day of the session. A separate application page shows different 2027 figures, so confirm which year applies.
For Medomak, no published workshop fee was found, so no total can be set against the other two.
Building a comparable total
- Start with published tuition
- Add materials fee or firing budget
- Add cheapest allowed housing tier
- Add travel, night at each end, buffer
| Line item | Haystack, two-week session | Watershed, two-week summer residency |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition or residency rate | $1,500 general tuition (directory listing, year not stated) | $2,575 regular rate (summer page, year not confirmed); $2,155 student assistantship rate |
| Room and board | $590 to $2,140, per directory listing | Not stated for the regular rate; included in the student assistantship |
| Materials and firing | Shop fees $25 to $170, plus materials | Materials and kiln fees billed per use |
| Travel and shipping | Not included | Not included |
On these listings, Haystack's tuition and housing together run from about $2,090 to $3,640 before materials, and Watershed's regular rate is $2,575 before materials and kiln fees. Neither total is a quote, so ask each school for its current written fee list.
Ask the registrar for last summer's average materials charge per student. A published fee is a floor, and the average is closer to what lands on your card.
For travel and shipping, the photographer's creative retreat field list lists the line items to track.
How to choose between the close calls
When two options land within a few hundred dollars, price stops deciding. Judge them on time, access and the skill you came for.
Close-call decision checklist
- Can you hold two full weeks?
- Is housing mandatory at your preferred school?
- Does materials fee include clay, glaze, firing?
- Is the deposit refundable if plans change?
Skill coverage, such as wood firing or glaze chemistry, is worth more than a famous campus.
Before you pay, read the cancellation and fee terms. Refund rules often decide the real cost of a booking that falls through.







